top of page

Maxed Overdraft - the truth behind a fashion degree student

I think the majority of university fashion students will use their overdraft at some point, but for me its whether I've totally 'maxed it out' at £1500 and have to lend money from my flat mate for the third time this week, or whether my granddad has put my £20 'pocket money' in.

Baring in mind that I am 20 years old, and friends that I went to school with are getting married and having kids, it is a stark contrast as the biggest worry I have to face is whether I can afford my £30 phone contract bill every month. You would think that with the financial state that I am in that I would start to budget and learn from my mistakes but instead I live on 15p smart price stuffing until my £20 a fortnight goes into my bank account and off I skip to Yates to buy a crayfish salad, with a side of garlic bread and a vodka and soda. Being a fashion degree student doesn't help, I would rather live off porridge for the month rather than go without that vintage leather biker jacket I seen the other day or my monthly dose of vogue magazine.

Being a fashion student comes with a lot of stereotypical views making my monthly impulse shopping habits 'a must' rather than an 'i will go without'. Summer is coming and most people will get excited during this sunny holiday period as they begin to look forward to their summer vacations they have already paid off, and they can spend all of their disposable income in the sales. But for me my money is already spent and no that's not including my overdraft or uni fee's. This year the list is endless... £100 credit card, £50 various store cards, £30 to Chels (flatmate), £45 phone contract, £48 very.com, £35 uni library, £25 Ebay seller fees... Yet I still have to somehow fund myself through two weeks of festivities and my uni deadlines. Funniest thing to date, my mother came in from work yesterday crying about the fact she is £12 in her overdraft, I actually had to laugh. Bring on the 14th of April when my next loan drops...

SHOPPING! Will I ever learn?

  • Wix Facebook page
  • Instagram App Icon
  • Wix Twitter page
bottom of page