top of page

Students of The Arts, Stand Up.


The other week, I ended up having a let's say heated debate with a man. A man that angered me so much that I feel the need to address this issue that we were debating about.

By Bethany Langford

Coming from a working class background I am used to the looks you get when you say 'I study fashion.' It's the look that says 'what are you going to do with that?'. As if the only job you could possibly aim towards once you've received your degree is the next big high fashion designer. The man in the pub I'm referring to asked me what I do for a living. I replied that I studied Fashion and Textiles leading to the person's response; "what an absolute waste of a life." My reaction was simply outrage. I hate the fact that I always feel the need to say "oh I'm hoping to become an art teacher" straight after I inform someone of what I do for a living. The assumption in my opinion is that it's an easy degree (if there is such a thing) and that as soon as I leave uni I won't be able to find a job in fashion and I'll end up doing a job that my heart isn't in. Anyone who studies fashion or any subject relating to the arts knows that it's anything but easy; never ending coursework, creativity on tap, you need to be completely original in your ideas which in the year 2015 is becoming increasingly difficult. I'm not saying that we work harder than students on different courses that is not my point, I just think that people are so judgemental and too quick to assume the worst. I want to become an art teacher to educate kids and to show them that you can find a very rewarding career in the arts. To be successful in the creative industry you don't have to be a famous designer or famous artist or a famous photographer for that matter, there is a whole world out there of careers that want people with passion and creative new ideas. Don't let people put you down.

  • Wix Facebook page
  • Instagram App Icon
  • Wix Twitter page
bottom of page