top of page

Creative Piece: A Break for Coffee

How strange, that I a recluse man who prefers the solace of his own company, should be sat here in a quaint little café just at the edge of town.

By Jon Ward Photo by Chantelle Gordon

It was a place which contained a dark history that had been morphed from its seedy roots to provide customers with a more socially desirable pleasure. Now I have been known to frequent such places such as this, their characteristics feeding my hunger for inspiration, the spur I need to create my escape. The strange thing was I had more company than my usual self.

As I gazed up from the pool of brown liquid I held in my hands, my eyes soon lay upon the ones that belonged to my company, a pair of blue iris blessed with the slightest of grey tints, which softened and soothed their gaze. Now unlike others I acquaint myself with, whose colour perched me on the edge of their prominent abyss, I could not drown in these eyes but drift quite comfortably. They did not dull my interest either unlike others, somehow captivating my attention. It would indeed explain why this was the second time of our meeting.

The first time I remember the coffee was satisfyingly bitter in my mouth prompting us into a few moments of sparse perhaps even awkward conversation, still trying to find some grasp on one another. Though this second meeting was graced with a sweeter, smoother taste which relaxed our mood and let words easily spill from between our lips. How amusing it was to me, that I could sit so contently with another, to give my ideas and listen in turn so freely.

Some who do not know we so well may think I am smitten with my company, though I will never deny they were in every sense of the idea beautiful, this perhaps was not the case. For to waste such a fellow mind on only a mere romantic perception would be a crime against our similarity, the companionship and understanding is by far more enticing than any such passionate folly. By the time I begin to reach the bottom of my drink, tasting the crude mixture which always remains beneath the surface, I realised this meeting was coming to an end. I was never sure if it was having to leave my company or the left over coffee that left a foul after-taste in my mouth.

  • Wix Facebook page
  • Instagram App Icon
  • Wix Twitter page
bottom of page