top of page

The Final Chapter – Entropy

The Final Chapter – Entropy EP Review Gareth J Morris The Final Chapter are another band which have just breezed into my life leaving a lasting imprint on my eardrums and a staking a claim on a small piece of my heart. I’m relatively new to the underground metal scene of the West Midlands and I am always left amazed when I come across a band such as this. The raw talent of these four young gentlemen is reflected not only in this EP but in their live performances.

Entropy, the second release from the band opens up with a dramatic intro of chilling piano and haunting strings in the form of ‘Dawn’ building the listener up with anticipation for the first lyrical track on the album ‘Signature’. My ears are immediately met with Jake’s melodic genius as he soothes and wow’s with his harmony before belting you in the face with that distinct growl and scream that I have come to love so much. This vocalist certainly has skills as he hammers on accompanied by thundering drums and grinding guitars and bass, setting the tone for the rest of the album. Moving into ‘Fraudulent Kings’, the lead song on the album, the gentle samples luring the listener into a false sense of security before bursting through your chest forcing you to smash your head around like a ragdoll! The vocal range is ear shattering and the melody is hypnotic backed up with insane drum work, tub thumping bass and a sickening guitar solo. I mean seriously, I dare anyone to listen to this album and try to fight your body’s natural impulse to mosh about like a loon! The album continues to astound with ‘Comfortable Delusion’ keeping with that trademark mix of screams and wicked awesome instrumental work before giving you time to catch your breath with the title track ‘Entropy’ which is a short interlude again showing of the vocal skills of the frontman before finishing you off with ‘Serendipity’ a song which resonated in the back of my brain for hours after I first heard it with its melodic chorus and impeccable use of samples which did nothing but compliment the skills of a great band.

The Final Chapter are a diamond in the rough. A one-of-a-kind outfit which have a bright future ahead of them. Proving that, unsigned by no means, means unnoticed, these guys are hot on the trail of becoming a success and I seriously recommend you go out and buy their new EP and get your ass along to the Flapper in Birmingham 9/4/15 for release show!

SMM – 8/10

  • Wix Facebook page
  • Instagram App Icon
  • Wix Twitter page
bottom of page